Log in


Named for the main character in E. B. White's Charlotte's Web, the purpose of the Charlotte Award is to encourage students to read outstanding literature and ultimately become lifelong readers. NYSRA presented the first Charlotte Awards in 1990.  Click here for a complete list of winning books and authors to date.

New York State 2023 Charlotte Award Nominees


● Students may have the books read to them or read the books on their own to become qualified voters.

● Students are encouraged to read all of the titles in a category, but it is not a requirement.

● Students may read books in more than one category and vote in each category.

● Each reader is entitled to one vote in each of the categories.

● All votes must be submitted through the link below.

Votes must be received by April 15, 2023

The 2023 NYSRA Charlotte Award Committee: Judy Ehrensbeck, Chair
Rebecca Benjamin, Carrie Lake, Stan Cianfarano, Salamah Mullen, Sara Parker Ada

New York State Charlotte Award Ballot 2023 is now available!


Questions about the Charlotte Award?  


Use the search box below to find what you're looking for, using key word search.

The New York State Reading Association is a 501(c)3 non-profit organization. 

Mail to: P.O. Box 874, Albany, NY 12201-0874

Contact Us via email at

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software